Sharing Without Borders

Everyone knows how easy it is to work with social groups in Jive: Create a group, invite some people, and get work done. By design, every group member is a collaborator and can co-author documents with other members, which means everyone has access to the same documents, which is what makes it easy. However, sometimes there's a document that needs to be edited by someone who is not a member of the group, which leaves you with a few options:

 

  1. Ask the individual to join the group. This isn't a problem if it's an Open or Members Only group. There's nothing confidential about the rest of the documents in the group and anyone can participate.
  2. Move the document to another place. If you can't make this person a member, this is the only option if your document is in a Private group, but not ideal for group members who expect the documents to stay put.
  3. Duplicate the document. If you create a copy of the document, you now have two versions to manage! Not ideal.


So, this problem primarily happens in restricted (Private) groups, which are popular among teams who collaborate around documents that are constantly in flux: It could be an HR team that is working on next year's benefits program; or the marketing team, planning a campaign. In the marketing scenario, let's say you need to have your resident IT Manager review some copy to make sure it's "geek approved" or even better—get her ideas and bring them into the mix. If you don't want (or cannot) add them as a member, you're limited to the options I've described, until now…


In the Spring release, we're introducing "Non-member Content Editing". It's super easy to use, since it extends the Sharing feature that's already built into Jive Documents, Discussions and Uploaded Files. Sharing to a non-member will now grant them access to a specific piece of content. You can even share to multiple people at the same time. Other group members will see when that content is accessible to non-members, and see who has access.In short, all you have to do is click "Share" and enter the name of any community member. If they're not a member of the group, you'll have the option of bringing them in, or emailing a PDF. It's that simple!


Walkthrough & Screenshots

 

ScreenshotDescription (Step-by-step)
NMCE - Create Group.png

Group Settings

 

For Private groups, you can check the box to enable the feature, beneath Extended Visibility. If you change the group type, the box will be cleared, since this option only pertains to Private groups.

Non-member Content Editing is disabled by default for all Private groups. Only a group owner can change this setting.

 

Note: The check box does not appear if an administrator has disabled the feature. (See FAQ, below, for more information.)

NMCE - Share Modal.png

Share modal

 

When you click Share, at the right of any Document, Discussion, or Uploaded file, the "Share" modal dialog box appears. If you enter the name of a non-member, you'll have the option of granting access, as indicated in this screenshot. The recipient will receive a standard "share" notification in their inbox, which they can click to access the content. You can still choose to only send them a PDF of the content, as is the norm now, if you would like to do that instead of sharing full access.

NMCE - Banner.png

Visibility Banner

 

When content is shared to non-members, a banner will appear at the top. This is so members are aware they have an extended audience.

NMCE - Banner Menu (Revoke).png

People List Popover

 

You can click on the banner to reveal the "people outside of the group" who have access to the content, using a popover. Group members will also see a "Revoke access" link, to revoke an individual user's access to the document.

NMCE - Edit.png

NMCE - Reply.png

Visibility Cues

 

Another thing users will see are these visual cues, when they are editing or adding comments and replies. The "people outside this group" link will reveal the same user list popover as in the previous screenshot, though you cannot revoke access from here. This is simply a reminder that there's an extended audience, which may be important to members.

Summary


That's it. It's pretty simple in the sense that end-users really only see those last few interactions shown in the walkthrough. The key really is the fact that it's part of the "Share" flow that users are already familiar with. Once they enter the name of a person who is a non-member, they'll see the option to bring them into the document for collaboration.


Sharee vs. Group Member Permissions

Now, a non-member sharee (someone who receives a share from a Private group) has a few restrictions, summarized in this table, but in essence, they cannot do certain things you wouldn't want them to do like delete or move the document.


Sharee (Community Member)
Sharer
Sharee Access
  • Sharees can open popover of sharees
  • Members can open popover of sharees
  • Authors can revoke
Social
  • Follow
  • Share (as PDF)
  • Bookmark
  • Like
  • Follow
  • Share
  • Bookmark
  • Like
Manage
  • Edit
  • Manage versions
  • View as PDF
  • View feeds
  • Mark as Final
  • Mark as Official
  • Mark for Action
  • Mark as Success
  • Mark as Outdated
  • Mark as Reserved
  • Edit
  • Lock
  • Manage versions
  • Convert to Doc
  • Move
  • Delete
  • View as PDF
  • View feeds
  • Feature
  • Branch (discussion)
  • Mark as Final
  • Mark as Official
  • Mark for Action
  • Mark as Success
  • Mark as Outdated
  • Mark as Reserved

FAQ


I've assembled a few common questions I've been asked about this feature, but please share any you have and I will update this list.

  1. If I don't want this feature to be used in my community, can I disable it?
    • Yes. In the Admin Console, in System > Settings, you can disable/enable the feature for the community.
    • If it's disabled, the option will not appear in Group Settings.
  2. Does this feature work with External (JiveX) communities?
    • Yes, although JiveX has an invitation-flow when sharing to non-community email addresses. See table of "Default Behaviors" below, for more detail.
  3. Does this feature work with Secret groups?
    • This feature is only support for Private groups. Secret groups are more restrictive and thus provide additional security and assurance that only members know about the existence of the group or that members can comment, reply, or edit the content. (Secret groups do provide the to share a PDF of the content only, via email.)
  4. What happens if a sharee eventually joins the group?
    • If a sharee joins the group, the shares are discarded.
    • Since they are now a member, they have access to all content and the same authorship rights as other members.
  5. Can content be shared to non-community members? In other words, can extended contributors gain access via Share?
    • No, this feature works separately from the Extended Contributors feature and only grants access to community members.
  6. Is this feature supported by the v3 API?
    • Why yes, of course!
  7. Does this feature work for Uploaded Files stored via the External Storage Framework?
    • No. Since external storage providers have their own schemes for managing access. Jive uses a single account to connect to a provider from the group, so we cannot manage permissions differently between members and non-members. If you have external storage configured (e.g. Box, SharePoint, etc.) for the group, the only sharing to non-members that is supported is sending a PDF.
  8. Is this feature available in Externally Accessible groups and can external contributors grant access to non-members?
    • Yes, it works with Private groups that are externally accessible. However, external contributors cannot share to non-members.
  9. Can any group member revoke access to certain non-members?
    • All co-authors can revoke access. By default, all group members are co-authors of the group's content.


Reference: Default Behaviors

SettingManifests InDefault, InternalDefault, Jivex
Global SettingAdmin ConsoleSystem → SettingsOn / enabledOn / enabled
Group Setting
  • Private groups only
Group: Manage menu → Settings → AboutOff / disabledOff / disabled
Share Options
  • When enabled in group
  • When share recipient is community member
Share modal
  1. Default to grant access
  2. Offer PDF
  1. Default to grant access
  2. Offer PDF
Share Options
  • When enabled in group
  • When share recipient is non-community email address
Share modal
  1. Default to invite
  2. Offer PDF
  1. Default to invite
  2. Offer PDF
Share Options
  • When disabled in group
  • When share recipient is non-community email address
Share modalSend as PDF
  1. Default to invite
  2. Offer PDF