As you prepare for the Jive/JiveX Summer 2014 release, we wanted to post a short guide to some of the settings that relate to new features and where to change them, if you intend on staggering their rollout in your community. You may, for example, choose to experiment a little longer with a feature, create your own documentation, make some tweaks, or deliver additional end-user training before introducing a particular feature. After your community is upgraded, you'll be able to make any changes.


Note the differences with Jive (employee) and JiveX (external) as well as Upgrades (existing Jive communities) and New communities.

 

Feature

Default: Upgrades

Default: New

DetailsTo Make Changes
Place Pages

Jive: Enabled

JiveX: Enabled

Jive: Enabled

JiveX: Enabled

Previously in beta, this feature allows you to create additional custom pages (up to 5) with page tabs in throughout your spaces, groups and projects. Note that these custom pages can only be added as an alternative to the traditional (widget-based) Overview page.

In the Admin Console, go to System > Settings > Pages

 

You can disable the feature altogether or change the setting that controls the maximum number of pages (up to 5) that can be added to a place.

 

Disabling the feature affects all Places, but is non-destructive. In other words, if the feature is re-enabled, any custom pages will return.

Your View

Jive: Enabled

JiveX: Enabled

Jive: Enabled

JiveX: Enabled

This feature ships with a basic default view that individual users can customize. It appears in the Home navigation, alongside Inbox, Overview, and Activity. Users can set it as their default "Home" view in the community.

In the Admin Console, go to System > Settings > Your View

 

Disabling the feature affects all users, but is non-destructive. In other words, if a user does make changes to their personal view and its subsequently disabled, their edits will return when the feature is re-enabled.

Non-member Content Editing

(Spring 2014)

Jive: Disabled

JiveX: Disabled

Jive: Enabled

JiveX: Disabled

Non-member Content Editing lets users share specific content with non-members of a Private group. Non-members can then be granted edit rights to the content without belonging to the group (which would give them access to all documents in the group and more privileges.)

There are actually two settings that control this feature:

  1. In the Admin Console, go to System > Settings > Non-member Content Editing to enable/disable the feature globally.
  2. If enabled, owners of Private groups will see the option to enable the feature in their group's Settings via Manage > Settings > About

 

So, even if the feature is enabled globally in the Admin Console, it has to be manually activated for individual Private groups, where the feature is disabled by default.

Place Categories

Jive: Disabled

JiveX: Disabled

Jive: Disabled

JiveX: Disabled

Place Categories provide a way for Community Manager to define controlled groupings of Places, for Place Owners to choose from these listings in their Place Settings, and for users to discover similar Places via Browse and each Places "About" box.Community Managers can create, edit, delete or disable Place Categories, as well as manage translations for each.

In the Admin Console, go to System > Settings > Place Categories


By default, there are no categories, so its up to the Community Manager to define them. If there are none defined or all categories are hidden, Place owners will not see them. (So, technically speaking, the feature is "active".)


See Also: