Overview: The following document provides information on how to get the Cliend ID and Secret Key for any instance. The Client ID and Secret Key are needed for accessing and leveraging the Cloudalytics APIs or to use the Data Export Service.
Accessing the Client ID and Secret key:
Sharing Without Borders
Everyone knows how easy it is to work with social groups in Jive: Create a group, invite some people, and get work done. By design, every group member is a collaborator and can co-author documents with other members, which means everyone has access to the same documents, which is what makes it easy. However, sometimes there's a document that needs to be edited by someone who is not a member of the group, which leaves you with a few options:
So, this problem primarily happens in restricted (Private) groups, which are popular among teams who collaborate around documents that are constantly in flux: It could be an HR team that is working on next year's benefits program; or the marketing team, planning a campaign. In the marketing scenario, let's say you need to have your resident IT Manager review some copy to make sure it's "geek approved" or even better—get her ideas and bring them into the mix. If you don't want (or cannot) add them as a member, you're limited to the options I've described, until now…
In the Spring release, we're introducing "Non-member Content Editing". It's super easy to use, since it extends the Sharing feature that's already built into Jive Documents, Discussions and Uploaded Files. Sharing to a non-member will now grant them access to a specific piece of content. You can even share to multiple people at the same time. Other group members will see when that content is accessible to non-members, and see who has access.In short, all you have to do is click "Share" and enter the name of any community member. If they're not a member of the group, you'll have the option of bringing them in, or emailing a PDF. It's that simple!
Walkthrough & Screenshots
For Private groups, you can check the box to enable the feature, beneath Extended Visibility. If you change the group type, the box will be cleared, since this option only pertains to Private groups.
Non-member Content Editing is disabled by default for all Private groups. Only a group owner can change this setting.
Note: The check box does not appear if an administrator has disabled the feature. (See FAQ, below, for more information.)
When you click Share, at the right of any Document, Discussion, or Uploaded file, the "Share" modal dialog box appears. If you enter the name of a non-member, you'll have the option of granting access, as indicated in this screenshot. The recipient will receive a standard "share" notification in their inbox, which they can click to access the content. You can still choose to only send them a PDF of the content, as is the norm now, if you would like to do that instead of sharing full access.
When content is shared to non-members, a banner will appear at the top. This is so members are aware they have an extended audience.
People List Popover
You can click on the banner to reveal the "people outside of the group" who have access to the content, using a popover. Group members will also see a "Revoke access" link, to revoke an individual user's access to the document.
Another thing users will see are these visual cues, when they are editing or adding comments and replies. The "people outside this group" link will reveal the same user list popover as in the previous screenshot, though you cannot revoke access from here. This is simply a reminder that there's an extended audience, which may be important to members.
That's it. It's pretty simple in the sense that end-users really only see those last few interactions shown in the walkthrough. The key really is the fact that it's part of the "Share" flow that users are already familiar with. Once they enter the name of a person who is a non-member, they'll see the option to bring them into the document for collaboration.
Sharee vs. Group Member Permissions
Now, a non-member sharee (someone who receives a share from a Private group) has a few restrictions, summarized in this table, but in essence, they cannot do certain things you wouldn't want them to do like delete or move the document.
|Sharee (Community Member)||Sharer|
I've assembled a few common questions I've been asked about this feature, but please share any you have and I will update this list.
|Setting||Manifests In||Default, Internal||Default, Jivex|
|Global Setting||Admin ConsoleSystem → Settings||On / enabled||On / enabled|
|Group Setting||Group: Manage menu → Settings → About||Off / disabled||Off / disabled|
|Share Options||Share modal|
|Share Options||Share modal|
|Share Options||Share modal||Send as PDF|