In Jive 6 there is a configuration option when setting up SAML SSO called "Sync user profile on login" that can be either enabled or disabled. We've run into some instances where this setting may be changed and can cause some unexpected behavior.
This is in Admin Console: People > Settings > Single Sign On > SAML > General
This single configuration option controls three separate pieces of functionality:
- Auto-provisioning users (when a user logs into Jive for the first time, if the option is checked, we create a new users)
- Updating users' profile fields based on the incoming SAML assertion (if the option is not checked, we don't updated any profile fields)
- Re-enabling users who have been disabled in Jive (if the option is checked, we will re-enabled users who have been disabled in Jive when they log in; if the option is not checked, we don't).