Concept of the best way to search the profiles of a specific set of users (feedback please!)

Version 3

I would appreciate some community input on this, as we are close to starting an effort on this subject that will have us asking ~ 1,500 users to update their profiles.

I'm not a Jive developer, so my apologies if my terminology is confusing.

The Current Situation

The current situation, with some ficticious details (I'll describe it as a global food company)

• Jive 7.0, Internal Community, large set of users (global, company wide deployment)
    • We have a subset of 1,500 users in a particular functional area (production), that are highly trained and specialized
    • We'd like to an easy way to search among all the producers with a certain skill, or to first limit by site, or business and then search by expertise
    • We would like to be able to use the funtionality of the tag cloud, and show the reduced cloud as more search filters are added
    • We cannot use the existing profile search interface
      • the tag cloud does not reduce as tag filters are added, it continues to show selections from the unfiltered cloud
      • the search interaface doesn't display the cloud so the user has to start typing first, so they need to know the term they want to search on
    • We have tested our concept with a group of ~ 100 users, and are happy with using a link to a prefiltered tag search to get them to the first step

The Tentative Plan

• Use the profile skills and expertise and have the user enter the specific tags that we request they include.  These would be tags to
      • identify them as a baker (baker)
      • identify the site (US-MA-Boston, Spain-barcelona, etc)
      • identify the business (Cupcakes, Donuts, Bread, Cereal, etc)
      • identify their expertise from some suggested tags that we've anticipated, about 50 (flour, mixing, eggs, ovens, etc)