Version 4

    Summary

    As per our official documentation, you can disable or delete a user account when you want to remove the person's presence from the community. You can disable or delete from the Admin Console by going to Admin Console: People > Management > User Search.

     

    Jive generally discourages Community Managers from deleting users and encourages them to disable / deactivate users instead.

     

    Versions

    • Verified for version: Jive-n/x 7, 8, and Cloud

     

    Details

    In most cases, disabling the users will accomplish the same results as deleting the user, but there are limited cases where deleting a user would be the makes sense. Let's consider the pros and cons of deleting vs. disabling.

     

    Deactivation vs. deletion

     

    Factor
    Impact of Disable (Deactivate)Impact of Delete
    Content Preserved. Content which was authored by the user who has been deactivated is still stored and preserved in the App DB and / or Binary Storage. When you disable someone's account, Jive will replace their former avatar with a blank avatar; the word "Disabled" will appear on their profile. The person will no longer be able to log in or receive notifications, but their content will remain viewable in the application. Deleted. Any content that was created by the user will be permanently deleted as well. This cannot be undone or recovered under any circumstances.
    Recoverable Yes. A user who has been disabled can be re-enabled at a later time. If the user is reactivated at a later time, the "Disabled" text will be removed and the users avatar will change back to their previous avatar. No. Once a user is deleted, it is not possible to re-enable them without completely recreating the user through any means (e.g. the Core API, Admin Console, App Database, Front-end UI, or by creating a case with Jive Support).
    Analytics
    • All data for Content Analytics are preserved and continue to record since the content persists
    • All disabled users actions are historically preserved and can be referenced indirectly. No new Activity is recorded because the user is not capable of new activity as long as they are deactivated.
    • Most data for Content Analytics are deleted with the content. Some historical user data may persist.
    • All users actions are historically preserved and can be referenced indirectly.

    Licensing

    (if applicable)

    A deactivated user will not count towards your licensed seats. A deleted user will not count towards your licensed seats.
    Spam Prevention Deactivating a user will not delete content. If the content that was posted by the user is spam, it will remain visible and accessible to the community unless dealt with separately. Because a users content is deleted when they are deleted, this is an effective way to remove spam in bulk.

     

    Examples of when to disable (deactivate) a user:

    • The user is leaving the company
    • The user is changing roles in the company and no longer needs access to Jive.
    • Any other sort of deactivation requests where the user's content and actions should be preserved in the community. This should be your default user deactivation method.

     

    When to delete a user.

    • The user is a spammer and has created spam content throughout the site which needs to be deleted.
    • It has been specifically requested that the user and all record of them ever existing be purged from the community. Reminder: This is permanent and cannot be undone by any means.
    • Other use cases where complete destructions of the user and all record of them ever existing is absolutely necessary. Typically, this level of complete data destruction is undesirable and unnecessary.

     

     

    Related Information