CRM.launcher: Disabling manual updates

Version 1

    ACRM server/client environments tend to display vast differences when it comes to user rights and the mechanism(s) by which CRM.launcher is rollout out to client machines and kept up-to-date.

    Although CRM.launcher does support various different installation scenarios out-of-the-box, the following settings have proven to be helpful in scenarios where an Administrator or an automated software rollout tool takes care of installing CRM.launcher on all client machines and users aren't supposed to be involved in the process.

     

    Step 1: Remove CRM.launcher from the server-side

    In order to make installing/updating the application via CRM.web impossible, it's best to remove the entire CRM.launcher application from the server's web\Data\plugins folder

    This step needs to be repeated after each CRM.web version upgrade

     

    Step 2: Alter the message displayed in CRM.web

    When a user tries to perform an action in CRM.web, which requires CRM.launcher to be installed, but the system realizes that the user isn't running CRM.launcher (or an incorrect version of it), a warning message is displayed to the user.

    In order to render the system more user friendly, the warning message should be modified within the designer's customer specific configuration. The text can be altered to anything which may help users in finding the right person to address their issue, for example:

    "CRM.launcher, the plugin required for editing documents, is not available on your machine or it is not currently running. Please attempt to manually start CRM.launcher or open a ticket for the IT department to request assistance."

    The edited text is permanent and doesn't need to be altered when ACRM is upgraded to a newer version.