LDAP and Active Directory Lessons Learned

Version 1

This is a summary document of several things I learned while implementing LDAP authentication at one of our clients.

Since this is in a public forum, I have put some generic terms in here, but hopefully this is helpful to anyone implementing LDAP as their authentication method for an internal group.

As background, my background is technical, but I've been out of the weeds for a while. I have not done a ton with LDAP and AD in the past and relied on input from Jive and the IT group to get some questions answered. This document will not answer all your questions, but hopefully answers some and gets you to a solution more quickly.

Background

• We have 4000+ users around the globe
    • Our Active Directory has much to be desired in terms of consistency and data quality
    • Most of our users, but not all, are in one domain
    • We have about 200 users who are NOT in our AD nor will they ever be, but we still need to manage them.

Two Primary Filters

There are two critical Jive system properties that need to be set to filter permission groups and users.

• ldap.groupSearchFilter = (&(objectClass=group)(name=XXXXX-Jive*))

This filter dicates what Active Directory groups  get carried over into Jive. If there is no filter, every single AD group a person is in will be created in Jive and you will end up with a large number of unnecessary permission groups. We were in a situation where we needed to create new AD groups (long story)and so we named them consistently and then filtered everything but that naming convention out. This is working extremely well for us.

• ldap.searchFilter  =  (&(objectCategory=User)(! (userAccountControl:1.2.840.113556.1.4.803:=2))(| (memberOf=CN=XXXXX-YYYY-North America,OU=JIVE,OU=Applications,DC=XX,DC=group,DC=local)(memberOf=CN=XXXXX-YYYY-Latin America,OU=JIVE,OU=Applications,DC=XX,DC=group,DC=local) ))