22 Replies Latest reply: Sep 5, 2013 3:11 AM by Yashita Goyal RSS

Redirect after registration

kevin.vanderbijl

Hi Community,

I'm new to Jive but sturggling with a question about redirects. Is it possible to redirect a new user the last page visited when they have completed the registration steps. They are currently redirected to the home page.

I hope this can be done?

Yours Sincerely

Kevin

• Re: Redirect after registration
          Ryan Rutan

Its been my experience that the login/register actions tend to use the jive.referer session property, such that when complete ... the user can be redirected to the desired post auth action.

If it were me, I would try the following:

• Create a new Action (for example: /my-registration.jspa)
            • In this action, simply do a session.put(JiveConstants.REFERER_KEY,"yourURL");
            • then redirect the user to the Registration Wizard start URL ... (....jspa)
          • When they are done, the wizard should check the session, remove the key (pop), and redirect the user to that page if found.

Like I said, I haven't coded this exact use-case, but this is how I would do it to try and keep from overriding the Wizard completely.

Hope this helps,

RR

kevin.vanderbijl

Hi Ryan,

I will try this today and hope that it wil work. Thanks for your fast reply and I will give you feedback afterwards.

Thanks

Kevin

kevin.vanderbijl

I'm finding it very difficult to get this working, I'm fairly new to jive and i'm wondering how I should do this. I have some questions regarding;

How can i create a new action?

Where do i have to put this file?

Where can i find my registration start url, because this needs to be dynamic?

Thanks for helping me out.

Kevin

Roguen Keller

Hi Ryan Rutan

I ran into this same need and gave this a try.  It did not work for me though, and so I thought I would come back for guidance.

As you mentioned, I'm working with the following struts action: