18 Replies Latest reply: Dec 13, 2013 6:28 AM by Paul Rapoza RSS

Using Jive as a Document Library

Genevieve Szablya

Hi all,

I'm new to the Jive Community and am hoping you can help me with a question that has been circling around us. We are in the process of weighing the pros & cons of integrating with SharePoint, or just using Jive as our document library. We don't use the workflow/versioning on SharePoint - we really just use it as a document repository, but are concerned about the lack of hierarchy and document description capabilities in Jive.

Have any of you used Jive to house your company's documents? If so, how has it worked for you? Has it been successful? Any tips?

Thanks a bunch!

• Re: Using Jive as a Document Library
          XMaskuli

I've had similar concerns from users in our community. JIVE has categories, which you can use in place of folders. There are things that Sharepoint is very good at such as sorting by creation date by title, etc. Each has pros and cons, I'm not sure what you mean by document descriptors though.

Genevieve Szablya

Thanks. Sorry - by document descriptors I mean more the ability to see the document description when you're looking at a list of documents. Also, we're a bit concerned about the privacy of the documents (particularly HR).

JohnSchwiller

Re privacy of documents (particularly HR), I have never come across any situation where a user has been able to see content in a container to which they don't have access.