19 Replies Latest reply: Mar 27, 2012 9:41 AM by ccarcallas RSS

Is your CM also your System Admin?

Melissa Rosen

I am wondering who out there is an Internal / Enterprise CM and also a System Admin for their Jive instance? And if so, are there any advantages to being both? We are plannning on rolling out our first ever instance of Jive in April/May. I am currently the ECM for our wiki (on Confluence) and I am also a Confluence Admin. While I don't do anything technical, being a Confl. Admin does allow me to help members in certain ways (I can see all their content regardless of how they set their permissions, I can manually add members so they have access, I can add members to specific groups). I've read some of the Jive documentation & the Jive 5 System Admin training, but I'm still trying to figure out how pertinent it would be for me to be a System Admin-- right now, we are not planning on it. Just thought I'd put this question out here in case there is some obvious reason to be both that I am missing. Would love to hear from others who have been there. thanks!

• Re: Is your CM also your System Admin?
          Nikki Bussard

For us, all of the use cases you listed for Confluence apply for Jive. I can't imagine not having admin privileges as an ECM, but I know other companies do split them.

Ted Hopton

I am the CM and have always had full sys admin permissions. I find it essential to being able to know everything that is going on and to be able to help people. Even when we hired a System Administrator to join the team, I still have my sys admin permissions and we back each other up.

Melissa Rosen

Thanks for the responses.

Ted,  Can you give me an idea of what having SysAdmin permissions allows you to do?