8 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2016 11:16 AM by allura

Categories vs. Tags

I'd like to build a bit of a training document for our community about the difference between categories and tags.  we are just getting started and I fear we're goingt o end up with 25,000 documents and no organization around them...

• Re: Categories vs. Tags
          Brad.Fitzgerald

I just started playing with this feature today in our DEV environment. They are related inthis way:

Categories are a group of tags.  Tags are Individual.

Admins create categories. Users create tags.

You can configure your categories to be automatically assigned when people add a tag.  You should encorage your users to tag their content and as certain tags become popular, relate those tags to a category.

This setup allows your users to do as they want, but enables you to build the categorization around the user's preference.  It is a nice balance between flexible user generated content and rigid organizational/categorical structure.

tmaurer

Here's how I described it to our users, and had good results:

Many times, people want to keep documents segregated into neat, discrete bundles. On our PCs, this translates to mean folders. Because this works well for us there, the tendency is to apply this same logic in Jive. the problem with that is twofold:

• We don't all think about what constitutes "neat, discrete bundles" in the same way, and so you might nest your folders much more than I would. This makes it harder for me to find things using your logic.
            • Nesting in the wiki means creating lots of subspaces, and this causes our users extra clicks to get to content
            • The Recent Content widget that can be placed on space, group and project homepages now has an extra filter using categories, which helps people sort through the recent content using these pre-defined categories. Another way to help drive people to see your content.