5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2011 3:49 PM by bjewell

What is your Internal Social Media Strategy?

Hi,

We are looking at defining our Internal Social Media Strategy.  I wanted to collect ideas and examples.  Because of the complex ecosystem in large corporations, we have to address all the other communications tools and how we relate.  Since this is related to people, it needs to include the concept of adapting and changing.  While tactical items have measurements, how is a strategy measured?

I also wonder if the people asking for strategy really want to hear about goals and objectives.

What are your thoughts?  Any good strategy references or ideas?
      Thanks

Mike

• Re: What is your Internal Social Media Strategy?
          DGarber

I'm waiting for the responses too!

I'm a newbie at this as well, but I'll share what I can...

Our strategy has definitely evolved over time (and it's still not firm yet).  The big goal was "everyone collaborate."  We have a lot of distributed teams, and everyone said "Boy it'd be great if we had some way to share documents, project plans, etc."  So that became our compelling need, which drove the goal of better collaboration tools.

It also helped to look at the individual groups rather than the whole company.  I've been to several potential users internally and asked what their needs are.  We determine what the success criteria is for each group (number of users, reduced time to project completion - whatever is important to them), figure out a way to measure the criteria, and then appoint a "champion" from that specific area.  That's our liaison, and the person who has a vested interest in the success of the project.