15 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2011 7:44 AM by lizg

Group Admin Support

england_k

Hey!! I am a Community Enterprise Manager and I am working on the launch of our beautiful new JIVE site.

I am writing some best practise for group admins and I wondered if anyone has something I can borrow or work from? I did a quick search and didn't find what I was looking for.

I want to include some best practise for how they can guide the members of their group tagging, categories, rating and liking content. As well as some best practise on moderating the group and then finally how to know when to close a group down and archive the content.

If I can the group owners early we have a better chance of best practise going forward.

Thanks in advance.

• Re: Group Admin Support
          CorinaPike

Hi Kim,

I am working on the same thing and although I am only in the early stages I am more than happy to share when they are done.

Thanks

chris.comeaux

This is an issue for me as well.  How I am looking at it is this....

One of our businesses has typically 20 active projects which are stored in Jive Groups, with controlled memberships (it is required that memberships are restricted to project teams at this point).

As projects are completed, we want to keep them discoverable, but as years go by less and less people will have access, and we don't want the headache to maintain the security of all these different groups.  This is especially a problem when new managers join the company, because they won't have access to these groups.

One way to do this is to move the completed Jive Groups into one larger "archive group", and they would become projects.

Another way to do this is obvious, we can use spaces.  We have been discouraged from using spaces though, and have been trying to work things out with groups.  With spaces, I need to check if I can put controlled access on projects within a space, or whether each one would need to be its own subspace.

bjewell