10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2011 10:30 PM by Oosthuar

How do you structure discussion forums or blogs in Jive?

Oosthuar

I am new to Jive and familiar with Sharepoint and Livelink Communities. I have read up on Spaces and Groups and understand that these objects are the same as sites or community workspaces...what I cannot figure out is how do you structure the conversations within such a community?

Besides my exposure to work discussion forums, my private interest expose me to off road biking sites such as Thumertalk.com, e-dirt.co.za and advrider.com which are all structured around topics. Similarly Livelink Communities allow you to create a discussion forum for which you define a very broad scope/guideline of what content is expected to posted. Once the forum is set up, people post their contributions / questions relating to the "forum topic". e.g. within the Mechanical Engineering COP (site) one would create discussion forums for each of the competency areas or practices or interests; such as "Vessel Design" or "Rotating Equipment" or "ASME Code / specification".

Reading some posts on Jive, it seems that once you have set up a space or group, there is no further structuring of topics. Instead of finding 5 to 7 Forums with a each containing a number of posts, one finds one bucket of 300+ discussions spanning all topics.

I have also read that you can set up categories to filter content and provide some basic browse-able structure but I also read that one is reliant on users doing the tagging and auto tagging is not perfected yet.

Am I correct to say that the (only) ways to structure discussions (blogs and forums) are:

• categories or
      • creating "smaller" spaces for each next level competency area with more defined topic scope or
      • creating groups for each next level competency area with more defined topic scope

Regards

Armand

• Re: How do you structure discussion forums or blogs in Jive?

Hi Armand,