4 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2011 7:42 AM by Rachel.Happe

Tips on how to "manage" a corporate community

Hello,

I'm a recently new community manager and my company and I are working through the pain points of creating a successful community for our customers. One of the recurring questions is "how do we know when to remove a post." We have guidelines around profanity, abuse and the like however, we are sensitive when it comes to competitors and promotions. I have my own rules and reasons as to why posts should not be removed but I would like to have information from other CMs for backup. Thanks for your help!

• Re: Tips on how to "manage" a corporate community

Rather than removing the post all the the context together, I would suggest you add these words to your profanity filter or use keyword moderation. Here are a couple ideas that you can work from and decide to use based on your approach:

1. Add words to your profanity filter to allow the posting of content but to *** out the controversial word(s). People will likely get the idea of what the poster is communicating, but you are not risking the exposure of the term.
          2. Add a few moderation keyword filters. We leverage this more for the prevention of spam in our postings, but it would be just as useful for eliminating or addressing the term the poster is submitting. For example, you can add the competitor terms as keywords to filter, then setup an custom error message to be returned to the user when trying to submit the post; such as "Please refrain from directly identifying the names of businesses within your response. Please edit the response and re-submit."

Between these two options you can likely cover all your needs.

I hope that helps. If not, feel free to contact me and I can give you some more in depth examples.

Ada

rdellimmagine