No, you can't delete. You can choose to stop tracking and then it won't surface to the top any more. But you can view unread only if you like a more spare view.
And it is not your retention policy but a specific setting in the Admin Console that determines how much content is retained in the view. Look at the Activity Engine page in the admin Console, and you can see what your settings are. Default appears to be 180 days.