10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 6, 2012 12:18 PM by dougmackay

Jive and the enterprise online ecosystem

behoppe333

I am an aspiring community manager at a company that is a couple weeks into a Jive 5 pilot. My team has responsibility for both employee-only and customer-facing communities; right now we are focused on employee-only. Like many of you, I need to reconcile our use case for Jive vs. several other enterprise collaboration systems that are already running. In our case these systems include:

• Jive 5 (we hope this will provide space for virtually all discussion both inside the company and supporting our customers)
      • SharePoint 2010 (a heavily used jungle of files; employee-only; used mostly by non-programmers)
      • TWiki (another heavily used jungle of file attachments; employee-only; used mostly by our programmers)
      • Confluence (a new employee-only space for files, used by one large product team that already uses a different bug-tracking system than the rest of the company)
      • Drupal (a small and unique product team is about to build a customer-facing community with this; every other customer facing community we expect to build with Jive)

Each one of the above 5 systems sits in Gartner's Magic Quadrant for social software in the enterprise. Our challenge is to understand if and how these systems (and their users!) can "play nice" with each other. Along those lines I have learned a lot from Re: Sharepoint 2010 vs Jive SBS and What systems/apps have you replaced with Jive?

I don't think we are dropping any of the above 5 systems except maybe Drupal. So, given that we are using all 5 of them, I hope to understand

• How to tease apart good distinctions between these systems, so that I can make informed decisions about "if user wants to do X, then the best tool to use is [Jive, SP, TWiki, Confluence, Drupal]." In the case of SharePoint and Jive, dannyryan et al provide a spectacular answer with the "Making SharePoint Social Whitepaper".