Hey Magpie -
If you are a system administrator, you'll still see docs which are in a 'deleted' state. Regular users won't see it at all. If you want to REALLY delete it - you can do so in the admin console under Spaces | Document Management. It will be gone from the db entirely.
Thanks, yes using the admin console did delete the document, rather than
its status just as deleted.
I've not been able to repeat the need to do this with other document
instances. When deleted, they are removed from public visibility.
However, it is useful to know that documents have a two level deletion