8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2012 7:25 AM by czurcher

Documents translated into different languages

karenp

Hi everyone

I'm quite new to Jive, well not as a user, but as an admin.  Apologies if this is a simple question.  At the moment, I am thinking about how best people can "link" together documents which are translated into different languages.  Ideally it would be great to have one document and then have different tabs at the top to switch into viewing it in a different language translation but I am not sure this is possible, especially if I want to have different approvers for each "tab".

So the problem that I am facing is:

• The technical approvers for a community won't speak all languages.  Therefore this means that we are creating new communities for each language and the approvers for these areas will speak the relevant language, but won't understand all technologies. 
      • We ensure a document exists in English first before translating it because this is the Primary language for our community and for sharing knowledge between geographies.
      • My question is: How do we ensure that if the parent English document is altered the translations that are derived from it are flagged in some way to ensure that they are updated too?

I have a few ideas how I can go about this, but I am worried that they rely a bit too heavily on people rather than automated process.

Could anyone please share if and how they have achieved this with Jive please?

Regards

Karen

• Re: Documents translated into different languages
          a_behrens

I heard this quite a bit at JiveWorld. Luckily we have two bi-lingual (Spanish) and our International PMs sit thirty feet away. Until a Google Translate style plug in is available, it may be an opportunity to engage new users and stand them up as multi-lingual experts. I would like to have a manual badge process where the community can find individuals with shared goals and a common language.

1 person found this helpful