5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2014 10:15 AM by babate

Document version control (check in/ check out)?

I am new to Clearspace (currently evaluating) and so far I do not see a method in the document management portion that supports true version control on a document.  In other words a way to "lock" a document so you can avoid stepping on each others changes.  For example,  I have user1 and user2 both collaborating on a document. User1 downloads version1 makes changes, user2 downloads version1 and also makes changes.  User2 then uploads the new version to clearspace and then User2 does the same - we have just lost the changes that User1 submitted.  Is there any way to prevent this?  Am I missing something?

Also on another note, it seems that if you create a Wiki document and then add an attachment to the Wiki document the search engine cannot index the contents of this document (as it does when you upload a document by itself).  Is this something I need to switch on or is this a feature that is not implemented.  If its the latter seems like it would be a rather useful feature to be included in Clearspace.

We are basically looking at Clearspace to be used internally as our collaboration tool, document management tool (we currently use a run of the mill source control product for this - its kind of messy), and internal knowledgebase.  Will Clearspace fulfill this role?

Will continue evaluating, but these are my initial reactions at this time.  Thanks.

• Re: Document version control (check in/ check out)?
          scott.hirdes

Hi,

This avenue of support is intended for supporting customers who have already purchased the product and have a support contract.  It sounds like you have not made the decision to purchase the product yet.  If this is incorrect, please let me know and I'd be happy to help.