13 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2014 12:54 PM by pradeepgm

Porting old freemarker code to soy?

jrenaud

Hi,

I'm quite new to freemarker and closure templates, and I'm currently looking to migrating to version 6 a Jive instance on which many UI modifications were made in the freemarker templates, and face cases like the following. In some cases, some freemarker templates in v6 have been replaced by closure (soy) templates: are the cases below as easily resolved, or possible at all using a similar logic with soy templates?

Freemarker Example 1:

${JiveGlobals.getJiveProperty("site.jumpnav2.url", "/community/suppliers")}

Freemarker Example 2:

<#assign userLocale = 'en'/>

<#if  action.getRequest()?? && user?? >

<#assign userLocale = statics['com.jivesoftware.util.LocaleUtils'].getUserLocale(action.getRequest(), user)/>

</#if>

<#if userLocale?contains('fr')>

<#else>

</#if>

Any thoughts? Ideas?

Thanks for your help!

• Re: Porting old freemarker code to soy?

Would it be possible to elevate the discussion a bit around what you are trying to do with the extensions? One of the reasons we moved to the app framework, including adding things like app actions, is to try and avoid the low level customizations that you are trying to do. Rather than simply port everything over, I'd like to see if there's an alternate way of approaching the problems/limitations that led you down the path of building the templates in the first place.

jrenaud

Hi Mark,

these ftl markup examples were used to generate things such as an additional, custom navigation menu in the header. For example, as our community is used in both English and French, the locale (i.e.: is the interface in English or French?) was first detected in order to in some instances generate slightly different markup, and also to specify texts and urls which values could be overridden through system settings key, should the need arise.

I'm looking forward to suggestions about how to accomplish this!

jrenaud