11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2016 11:11 PM by pushpendra.paliwal

How do I bulk add users?

benjudy

I'm a Jive newbie and I'm much more a designer than I am a developer... so go easy on me!

I need to add about 2000 users to a Jive group. Manually entering each one doesn't seem like much fun. Aside from Amazon Mechanical Turk, what is a good approach to getting this done?

With your advice, keep in mind that I'm not much of a programmer. I'm eager to learn but I'm afraid I need answers in layman's terms. And at this point I just need to be pointed in a general direction more than I need details of a particular approach (that part will come later, I'm sure.)

Many thanks!

• Re: How do I bulk add users?
          benjudy

OK, I've tried a lot of things with no luck. Here's where I'm at currently.

I'm using the Firefox RESTClient add-on (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/restclient/) -- and it should be noted that I have no idea what I'm doing.

This screenshot shows what I'm putting into the client. Obviously, I changed my domain in the URL field to mydomain.com for anonymity. Everything else is just as I am submitting it.

It says Status Code: 200 OK, yet no users are added. In the Response Body (Raw) tab, I get throw 'allowIllegalResourceCall is false.'; followed by what looks like an output of all of the users currently in my Jive site.

This morning I tried submitted this using the POST method, and it worked once! It added a user. But now when I try it, I get Status Code: 406 Not Acceptable.

Not sure what to do from here. Any help is appreciated!

Screen Shot 2013-01-04 at 1.18.42 PM.png

vince.wruck

Hi!  I am in the same boat and am really curious about this.  I'm sure several new community builders have faced this issue - I am migrating users from an old community.  I hope to hear about a solution...

benjudy