7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2013 11:45 AM by jsummers

Newsletter as Document or Blog?

rclee@fdbhealth.com

Hi all,

I'm new to Jive and am trying to implement our weekly email newsletter into Jive. The newsletter is currently laid out with an "index" at the top that links to each article within the newsletter. Does anyone have any recommendations on whether to implement this as a document or blog? At the surface, both methods seem to be about the same. Additionally, would you break up the articles into different documents/blogs and consolidate with links or just keep it all in one document/blog?

Thanks for your help!

-Roger

• Re: Newsletter as Document or Blog?
          daniel.marotta

Hi Roger,

I would use blogs for the simple reason that the URL is SEO-friendly. I would also recommend publishing one blog that was used at the "Table of Content" and linked to the individual [blog] articles.

For example, let's say you have five articles in this month's newsletter. I would publish each of the five articles on their own as blogs. Then I would create a master blog that teased up the five articles with a link to Read More. The master blog is what I would promote to my readers through outbound marketing, social channels etc

-Dan

rclee@fdbhealth.com

Thanks, Dan.

The only concern I have with this approach is that people like to scan the articles and not necessarily the top 200 characters. Is there a way to have a view that shows all the blogs in a certain order that is not "custom" so that people can do that scanning?

Thanks!

-Roger

daniel.marotta

Will the blogs be published in the same Space or by the same Author?

If yes, use the RSS widget and set the 'Show Full Content' to Yes. Place the RSS widget on your homepage or a custom page.

Claudine

Hi Roger,