17 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2014 7:49 AM by ann154

Number count max for inbox?

ann154

Out of curiosity, is there a count maximum for the inbox (Jive 6.0+) on this community? Or when using the "seashells" in Jive 5.0+.

For example if you have a lot of replies or people you follow in the inbox so you have 100 new items will it have a little "100" next to the inbox link or something else?

• Re: Number count max for inbox?
          it2000

I've seen '50+' on a screen shot.

ann154

Why only "50+"? Isn't that kind of limiting?

Ryan Rutan

While I'm not an expert, I would expect that this is in part UI constraints (trying to preserve horizontal fluidity) and part human capacity to intake.  I would imagine that at a certain point, a large number is just a large number.  Especially when it comes to things that you have to do.  I'm sure that number is not the same for everyone.  Some people tune out after 10, 40, or even 99.  If you see 50+, you know have a mountain of conversations to sift through ... perhaps its an "I'm feeling lucky" moment where you are hoping for 51 rather than 151. =)  Those are just my thoughts. 

ann154

The size of that same "mountain" is quite different when it is 51-60 new items versus over 200 or 1000.

I can actually read through 50-60 new discussion replies in an hour. If I knew that there were closer to 200 or more, I could better judge my time.

Regular email programs don't limit the number of "new" items in the their count to 99+ or something similar.

Ryan Rutan

Agreed.  I can plow through conversations at a higher rate, but I think the actual number is chalked up to personal preference at the end of the day.  Some people take longer, and some are faster … so I'm sure the number selected here was a middle ground between the two camps. =)

As for the comment about "regular email programs", I'd agree, except that Jive is not an email program.   I'd argue it's much much better =)

RR

ann154

Better?