13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2016 8:10 AM by caraujo

Live Blogging in Jive--Have you done it, and what would be your advice?

cservilio

Hi Jive experts, we are considering using Jive to live-blog a large internal conference.  I have never done a live blog in Jive before, so I'm not sure how the concept translates to the Blog feature.  I know some blog software like Wordpress would allow you to time stamp all your updates within the blog and they will reload automatically without the user having to refresh the page (I think), but I don't think we can do that in Jive.  I think the main things that the business users want are a) to be able to post updates that will be easily readable from activity streams on the homepage and in the groups and b) for people not able to attend the meeting to be able to comment on or reply to the blog posts.

Do you think it makes more sense for each live blogger to work with one blogpost and then "edit" it each time to add an update?  Will this be confusing without timestamps?  E.g.

Update: Our next speaker is John Smith.  He is discussing our goals for this year.

Update: Someone just asked the question, "How can we be more strategic around hiring this year?"

Hi everyone! At the annual conference now, excitement is in the air. First speaker is Jane Doe talking about talent acquisition.

Or would it make more sense for the live blogger to post an initial blog, then add subsequent updates in as comments?

A third option that I just thought of--the live blogger posts separate short blogposts for each subsequent update, although this may end up being confusing to the readers and take longer.

For those of you that have done this, how did you handle the logistics?  Chris Hall and Jacqui Chan, I saw that you had mentioned doing some live blogging in the past, so hoping you will chime in .  Thanks!

• Re: Live Blogging in Jive--Have you done it, and what would be your advice?
          crossman