4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 27, 2013 10:03 AM by Brian5280

Organizing Inter-disciplinary Content

msoltow

Our Jive implementation team has been struggling with a tough organizational issue for the past couple of weeks, and we were wondering if anyone else has run into this.

Our organization is very interdisciplinary.  Projects are not isolated to just one group, but instead span multiple departments and teams.  This creates a conundrum for users when trying to upload content: where do they put it?  If I'm a chemist working on Project A, and I'm uploading a paper that relates to Project A and chemistry in general, do I place my content in Project A or in the Chemistry Group?  Furthermore, if I'm looking for chemistry content through the use of navigation, rather than search, I can't be confident that navigating to the Chemistry Group will take me to all content in the company related to chemistry, as many items will have been placed in projects.

We realize that this problem could be solved by:

a.) Training users to use search, rather than navigation

b.) Composing and enforcing governance policies on what content goes where

However, we do not want to rely on adherence to policies to organize content.  That's essentially the situation now in this company, and the result is a complete mess in which it is impossible to find anything.

We'd like to organize content purely by tags, and have the tags organize the content, rather than the Groups and Spaces.  However, this does not seem to be possible, as there's no way to get rid of the "Content" link at the top of each Place, and this is always linked to the content in that particular Place, not all the content related to the Place's subject or discipline.

Has anyone else run into this problem, and if so, how did you organize your community to deal with it?

Thank you very much in advance for sharing your ideas or experiences!

• Re: Organizing Inter-disciplinary Content
          Dennis Pearce