44 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2017 10:28 AM by nataliashcherbyna

Guidelines for external collaborators on internal communities

Edward Ford

We're preparing to upgrade to Jive 7 and look forward to using the external groups functionality that allows users to invite external parties to participate in groups on an internal community. Has anyone who already has this functionality amended their community rules with guidelines outlining how people should use this functionality? I'm just beginning to think about the guidelines that we should share with people and it would be helpful to hear considerations from others or any specific issues that may have stemmed from this functionality.

• Re: Guidelines for external collaborators on internal communities
          tmaurer

nbussard - do you have anything along these lines?

Libby Taylor

We are reviewing and testing this functionality right now in Jive 7. I suspect that due to privacy concerns and overall a feeling of wanting to control the extent to which Externally Accessible Groups are used, we will probably only turn-on the ability to create external groups to a few key advocates. We might require that someone who wants to be added to the list of folks with this power present our governance team with the use case/plan for their EAG before we will grant them the power. As it is, there are so many controls on the back end, we could end up only allowing a very specific set of external users into these groups at all. So I guess you could say we are in the process of figuring it all out in order to fine tune how it would work for us. As far as the collaboration guidelines themselves, we will probably leverage what we already have for our users, which includes some clear terms and conditions that have to be accepted before they can proceed in the site. I'll keep you updated here as we know more.

lindoty