11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2014 11:31 AM by marya.devoto

Best Practices for Documentation?

lhenriksen

I am an outside consultant being asked to move extensive product documentation (currently in Word) to Jive. 

1) Is this a recommended use of Jive?

2) Are there best practices for accomplishing this?

3) Would it be more efficient to move to Jive using HTML exported from something like InDesign?

4) Is the Jive CSS available for class/styles in predefined HTML?

5) Is it better to put individual PDF pages into Jive rather than trying to move in a Word page document?  Is the PDF fully searchable in Jive?  Any best practices for posting PDFs?

not very WYSIWIG which significantly impacts editing time.   Are there ways to improve the WYSIWIG between edit and view?

I've noticed that Jive Software documentation is not in Jive which makes this request a concern for me.  I'd appreciate your best advice on this.

• Re: Best Practices for Documentation?

Great questions. People often ask about this! We see Jive getting better for documentation all the time, but it still has some gotchas (and if we ever get a really solid DITA connector, well, we will be our own first customers). To be clear, a good number of our customers absolutely do publish in Jive. It isn't necessarily the best platform for large, highly structured documentation sets that interlink a lot (like ours), but as a knowledge base or for focused projects it can have a lot of value, and it's very useful to have the documentation become part of the Jive site search.

Here are some ideas for creating a good documentation experience in Jive without too much pain: