10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2008 1:28 PM by greg2

    delete user

      There used to be a delete user option in admin console in 1.7. Its not there anymore. How can I delete the users?

        • Re: delete user

          No, it's no longer possible to delete users. However, you can disable them in the admin console.

           

          \- Seth -

            • Re: delete user

              How can I still go ahead and do it?  All these users are inactive users with no documents, discussions, blogs - so no issue with dependencies. They have never logged in.

              • Re: delete user

                OK. to be more precise I do not want these users to show up in search results - dont really care if they are still in the system. How can this be accomplished?

                  • Re: delete user

                     

                    This is the approach I like, too.  If you could mark the user in some special way (easy: change username to gone_USER or hard: add a flag to the db), then we can customize CSX to filter out those results, perhaps with an interceptor?

                     

                     

                    Seems quite straight-forward to my small brain!  But I'm not a coder so I'll shut up until someone says it's possible

                     

                     

                      • Re: delete user

                        Hi there, it sounds like you want to use the Disable User functionality in the Admin Console. You can get there by navigating to Admin Console > People, viewing the user and selecting "Disable User".

                         

                        The one thing disabling won't do is pull the user from search results, but it is a great improvement we can get into the product.

                          • Re: delete user
                            melwong

                             

                            greg wrote:

                            Hi there, it sounds like you want to use the Disable User functionality in the Admin Console. You can get there by navigating to Admin Console > People, viewing the user and selecting "Disable User".

                             

                            The one thing disabling won't do is pull the user from search results, but it is a great improvement we can get into the product.

                             

                            One suggestion to add if not implied is to also free up a seat in your user license.  No sense to  hold up a spot if the user is disabled.

                             

                             

                            • Re: delete user

                              I know about diabling users. My main concern is that if would like to share the search results of people with someone they will also see some users that have intentionally created bogus profile for checking the stuff out. So i just want to blcok them out somehow from search results.