16 Replies Latest reply on Apr 1, 2014 6:13 AM by Ryan Rutan

Is there a story based Developer Guide?

scoffey

Ryan Rutan

Mark Weitzel

I am completely new to Jive. I have used Spring, Struts, FreeMarker, etc., but this is my first go around with Jive.

What I am looking for is a developer guide that will explain the terminology in use, and the means by which one can integrate with Jive.

So, you might ask, what is it you want to do?

Very soon I will need to modify the behavior when a user logs in. I need to have access to their screen name. Both acquiring what Jive thinks the screen name should be, and changing that screen name. I need to know when they change the screen name or set the screen name for the first time so that it can be manipulated by another service. I need to get other user information and send it to other systems so that if the user changes information in Jive, the other system knows about it. And I want to do this without modifying the login or account data behavior in other ways.

How do I do this?

There is a lot of documentation and user contribution all over the Jive Developer Community.

But I can't find a high level explanation for what is available, or what integration is intended.

I might expect the following possible types of integration:

1) Integration for events in Jive: When jive does this (like logging on), you provide a class with interface X and Jive calls it before or after it does it's own thing.

2) Integration for components in Jive: When jive does this, instead of calling it's own component it calls the one you write instead.

3) Integration for new UI elements in Jive: Jive lets you create UI elements, instead of one of the UI elements provided you can write your own and they show up in "create" then on the page or list where you created them.