12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2014 5:27 PM by aziz

Social groups with access control

aziz

Hello all. I am new to Jive and have the following question.

We are using Jive 7.0.0.1.

We would like to allow a well-defined population to collaborate using Jive. All of the features we want are provided by Jive’s social groups. Users can create their own (open/membership/private/hidden) social groups and invite others. However, we have a hard requirement that an additional access control be applied when accessing these social groups: at the time of creation, a social group owner would indicate the permission group(s) to which all users must belong in order to access the social group, regardless of membership status to the social group. So, it’s not enough that a user has been invited to the social group in order to access it, the user must also be in the permission group(s) allowed to access the social group.

Option 1: Use Customized Social Groups

We could not find out-of-the-box Jive functionality to allow for this. Jive does allow permission group access control for *all* social group. However, we don’t want such a universal approach. We want to be able to selectively apply permission groups to social groups on a case by case basis. So, we thought about customizing Jive’s social groups as follows:

1. Allow a social group owner to indicate the permission groups required to access a social group
      2. Add checks within Jive to enforce this access control

How easily can the “create social group” web interface be customized?