16 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2015 5:25 AM by urvashi

Requirements needed for building an app.

shipra

Hello,

We are trying to build an APP for our community. I have created a small app with UI functionality but need to progress on it and make the APP more functional.

I have few questions. If anyone has worked on app before or has any information please revert on them:

1. What are the specifications of the server required to install node.js. We want to know if node.js is a heavy or light application. How much space it requires?

2. Can we host an app in our jive hosted instance without setting up node.js. If yes Please elaborate on it.

3. How can I make my app store data in a DB . I see a folder as DB in the app structure but didn't find much on it in community.

I will be looking forward for some helpful replies.

As you might figure out I am new in app development so any help is appreciated.

cc Lea Reznik

Pawan Shah Aron Racho

• Re: Requirements needed for building an app.
          pawans

1. What are the specifications of the server required to install node.js. We want to know if node.js is a heavy or light application. How much space it requires?

Node.js being single threaded by default, you actually don't require a powerful vm.

There are node libraries to support multi threading, but as per my experience with jive add-ons, its not required.

I have setup two vms behind our firewall which are CentOS 6.5, 4 core, 4 gb ram, 5gb vms.

The only reason i got a 4 core vm was to have multiple jive-sdk servers on single vm in future, which I have not utilized yet.

I have a node server running on each of these vms.

One of the node serfver hosts a heavy webhook based add-on which received jive webhook events every 15 seconds, and beyond that it calls jive rest apis and google apis to do some processing. All on one node process.

The other server has 4 jive apps plus an internal service for an app, all on one node process.