3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2015 3:53 PM by cflanagan17

Encouraging Users to be Involved in External Community

Jamie Roberts

Hi all,

I am still fairly new in this position and looking for some advice. I am seeing that while we are having members join our community at a fairly steady pace, the new users are not updating their profiles. Most do not have avatars or profile pictures loaded to the site and I am looking for some advice on how to politely encourage our clients to complete this step.

We also have a fairly large number of "lurkers" on our site. We  have high views on a lot of our content, but low participation. What have other companies done to encourage participation when dealing with clients of your organization?

• Re: Encouraging Users to be Involved in External Community
          Libby Taylor

Generally the same situation here!

I think it would be good to consider some kind of profile update contest... link the profile completion with a game of some sort. Although I haven't really developed one for the JC, so others might have more specifics about how this could work.

As far as the viewers go, I think there is some sort of expectation that external communities will have a large preponderance of viewers-only. If someone can come to your community, search for an answer, find it, then leave all without having to log in... that can be a great thing! I'm not sure what the measurement is but there's some really high number (percentage-wise) of acceptable viewer to contributor ratio for external communities. Since it was Claire Flanagan that told me that, I am going to pull her into the conversation here.

Dak Lyons