5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2015 1:50 PM by jkurutz

Need a complete different mindset to learn jive

charulkothari

This is not the regular text book learning where you go step by step.  Collaboration is the future and Jive is a perfect vehicle to help you collaborate.

• Re: Need a complete different mindset to learn jive
          gordon_sorensen

I would agree with you, but maybe for reasons that are different from why you posted this. Can you give more detail about what you mean?

jkurutz

Hi Charul,

It will help us to help you if we knew your positions and what you're trying to accomplish. Are you a community manager? A group manager? A user? IT Admin? What is the aim of your community? How are you trying to edit the user interface?

Personally, I've been a Jive admin for about three years, and I've never needed to to do any front-end coding. The out-of-the-box tools meet almost all of our needs, though sometimes we just need to think of things a little differently in order to accomplish our aims with the tools at hand.

Here's an insight that might help you: Many people who have some experience with programming or code-level web design approach design of Jive pages and sites by posing

"Here is the design and functionality I have in mind. How do I get Jive to do that?"

This approach often leads to frustration for three reasons:

• Jive's tools are reasonably sophisticated, and it takes a lot of labor to develop similar tools from scratch
            • Jive environments contain a lot of constraints that make certain things nearly impossible (for instance, changing the default horizontal spacing between tiles) even if such things are very easy when programming a page at the code level.
            • You may not be aware of all the Jive tool capabilities and limitations, so there may be tools available that do a better job than the custom code you propose

Here is an approach that will probably be more effective: