4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2016 11:07 AM by fgomez

Customizing Using CSS

jhoward

I'm new to Jive so I'm sorry for the silly question. We have an external instance that's on the cloud & I'm getting conflicting information on the use of CSS. When I asked if we could use CSS, or possibly a stylesheet, I was told nicely - but firmly - no. However, when I read thru the blogs, discussions, etc. within the jive community, I see users share CSS code w/each other.

We have style guidelines for our documentation that include basic formatting structure; font, spacing, bullets, etc. that we were hoping not to have to apply inline every time. Can someone help me understand what I'm missing? Thanks!

• Re: Customizing Using CSS
          John Lascurettes

It depends on what you're talking about when you're talking theming, and which kind of customer of Jive you are.

There is a Theming Tool available to all Jive customers that is mainly a configuration tool, where colors, images, custom nav elements and a few other configurable components can be tweaked via settings. The tool is available by default to any site admins under the their user menu and labeled "Themes"; it can have non-admin users (such as a marketing department) added to a user group that would grant them permission to the tool. This is an upgrade-safe method of customizing the look and feel of Jive, but it's also a light-touch method because of it, with most of the visual differences that can be had in the navigation header and in the site width and layout. There is an "Advanced Header" component where a custom header and footer may be inserted with your own HTML and CSS, but the CSS that is uploaded for this part of the app is "sandboxed" to just your custom HTML header or footer.