You are able to make edits to a place template and then save it under a new name in Your Templates. Additionally, Admin users are able to save community template for others to see.
This document provides more details surrounding Creating a New Place Template
Hope this helps.
Hi John Decker
Does that mean that you cannot edit an existing template or delete one? I have just created a new community template but realise that I want to make a change to it. Happy to delete and start again or change the one I created, but I can't see how to do that.
Actually - I see how to delete one - there is a delete icon next to the template name when I browse templates. So I can amend, save with a new name, and delete the old one. Sorted ....