7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2017 10:32 AM by CurtisG

GSD vs. Internal Comms Communities

annetown

First, some background: I'm currently in, essentially, my third 'Jive' community, my fourth community overall, and I've noticed something funny. I'm currently an enterprise community manager for Citi, but helped ramp and build an internal community on my marketing team at a previous employer. Directly prior to this, I managed two external advocacy platforms for HTC and Nissan North America.

Now, some context: My current community at Citi is, what I affectionately call a Get S*** Done (or GSD) community. (I consider myself the GSD Squad Leader). We have a smattering of HR tools to help with everything under the sun at Citi, and our community is a place for folks to connect and engage with their immediate teams, larger departments, and sometimes with the company. In the past, (and what my impression from most other internal communities) I've only seen internal communities as almost an extension of internal comms. I know it is way more than that, but for the sake of time, I'm painting with a broad brush here.
      What I want to know is, are there communities out there that do both? We're talking internally later this month about strategy, and I want to pick some brains on whether or not this is possible, what the challenges were, how they started vs. how they got to where they are, etc.
      I'd love to learn:
      1) Is your community that community? If so, which did you start as? Or did you start as both?
           1.2) What steps did you take to get there?
           1.3) What are the challenges you still face?
      2) If your community isn't there, what community are you and would you change it one way or the other?
           2.2) Do you have plans to get to both? Why or why not?
        • Re: GSD vs. Internal Comms Communities
          dougmackay

Hey Anne!

Long time! I hope you're well.