4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 21, 2017 1:49 PM by danthomas

Best practices to manage large groups over time--do you periodically ask for members to opt in/re-join?

kellyrfeller

Howdy folks! I work in IT at Cisco and am responsible for enabling our Jive influencers (Community managers & Advocates) to help drive increased adoption of social collaboration & Jive throughout the company. I recently joined the team and took over management of a rather large group of community managers with 3K+ members (internal, open).

My question is: does anyone have best practices for managing large internal groups to help maintain security and minimize group spam? As the Jive groups at Cisco continue to mature, we're finding there are many groups with members who have either left the company or who have transitioned roles and are no longer engaged in the group. I just wondered if others update their group membership with any frequency through either an opt-in message or perhaps a tile requesting people to re-establish their desire to be in the group? Or perhaps there is another way to do this from a technical perspective?

This guidance will likely be shared broadly with community managers as they, like me, attempt to maintain the effectiveness of their groups. Thanks for any tips!

• Re: Best practices to manage large groups over time--do you periodically ask for members to opt in/re-join?
          Libby Taylor

It's a really great question that I personally don't have an answer for. But hopefully another one of our community members has addressed this in the past!

• Re: Best practices to manage large groups over time--do you periodically ask for members to opt in/re-join?
              delfin

Hi Kelly

I'm guessing there are two concerns we need to address from your inquiry and I hope I get it right:

1. How to housekeep membership of your Advocates group

2. How to manage group members who have moved to a new team or left the company