6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2017 5:17 AM by briankling

Is there a way to automate a direct message when someone joins the community?

kristengastaldo

I've been sending out "Welcome to the Community" emails to new member's inboxes and I'm wondering if there's a way to automate this. It's a little different than the email they get when joining. We have a lot of people join and never post anything, so I send them a message about a week out, offering  a few places they could contribute. Anyone else do this? Is there a way to make it less manual?

• Re: Is there a way to automate a direct message when someone joins the community?
          lawrencemg

What timing! Funny you ask as I have been asking that very same question for several months of our DEV team (we are on prem Jive) to help me segment markets of internal users I can't reach without sending them outside the collaboration system of our Jive instance with milSuite to Outlook email. I try to keep the communication in the system as is. Here what I am trying to do:

• It eases marketing to certain target audiences and we have a major need to do this with a very diverse set of users (Who BTW...also ask for ways to reach their target audiences they wish to reach through various means beyond the current tools too so this can aid them too).
          • The option to DM them would rely on how your system works (on prem or cloud I guess and local configuration).
          • Also external or internal communities have different needs/use cases. But all can and should be market-segmentable if you can.
          • When I have a certain captured target audience (such as maybe CEO C-suite level of high value targets) I want to reach them with an opt-in style approach to get them to a private community where they can lurk and learn in private. (What boss wants to show their subordinates that they have no clue what you are talking about?)