6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2017 6:02 AM by lorilea

How do you manage copyright on your instance ?

clairelesage

Hello

We are currently facing different situations :

• people use any picture they find on google
      • they integrate vides from YouTube,
      • they use suppliers' videos without written consent
      • they spead newspaper articles ...

I'm afraid if our legal experts write rules, we won't be abe to publish anything else than texts.

I would be very interested in knowing about your own experience.

How do you deal with these situation in your internal communities  ?

Are you rather permissive ?  Do you try to raise awareness about copyright ? Did write rules  ?

Have you ever faced any copyright problem ?

• Re: How do you manage copyright on your instance ?
          Libby Taylor

I can answer a little bit from my experience... when I was an internal community manager, the general feeling was that if the image was being used inside the company only and would never be used in marketing materials or externally in any way, the risk of copyright infringement was mitigated so people looked the other way. You could probably extend that attitude to videos and articles as well. I would think sharing external articles internally is a fairly common practice in Jive-n communities.

1 person found this helpful
            Andrew Gilleran

Copyright does extend to intranets and internal platforms like Jive.

http://blog.melissabradshaw.com/2013/08/images-and-copyrights-the-myth-of-internal-use/

As Libby said it is important to emphasize where the content is being used. If someone gets images from Google, puts them on a PowerPoint and then shares that presentation publicly on SlideShare then you would have an issue. It is a breach of copyright.