3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2018 8:14 AM by oonagh.m

    Does anyone know if it is possible to give a user view-only access within Jive?

    jakeosmak

      Setting up a new user so they can only view content, and not post or like or engage in any way.

       

      Thanks!

        • Re: Does anyone know if it is possible to give a user view-only access within Jive?
          oonagh.m

          You can create a special permission group and give them view-only access in the admin console.

            • Re: Does anyone know if it is possible to give a user view-only access within Jive?
              michelle.gantt

              You can do this as a first step, but it's not that simple. Jive is not meant to be a "view only" platform so there is no easy way to give someone "View Only" access. And the changes that would need to be made will affect all users - not just this one person.

              • Space permissions are additive - when All Registered Users has more than View access and is applied to spaces, this user will have the same access as ARU, even if you've given this user specifically only View access. So you would have to remove ARU from ALL spaces or change ARU to View only and use different permission groups to give everyone else their normal access.
              • You would have to remove this user's access completely to social groups - so they wouldn't be able to see them either. If you give the user View access to social groups, they can still participate in any open or restricted groups.
              • You would have to remove the ability to create personal content from ALL users as this is a community-wide setting and can't be controlled via permission groups.
              • Also, I"m pretty sure that in spaces where someone has View only access, they can still like and share. And they can download any uploaded files.
                • Re: Does anyone know if it is possible to give a user view-only access within Jive?
                  oonagh.m

                  That's true, it's certainly a manual process.We use this for a select group of users who we can't legally allow to participate on the platform, but who need to see the documents uploaded by the corporate office. We had to create a user group and then add them as their own permission group to each space, which takes a lot of time to set up.

                  It's certainly not something I think people should do for the platform as a whole, but I think there are scenarios where it can be necessary. We've also used this particular permission group to add users who have violated our community guidelines -- we can't kick them out of the community, they still need access to the documents, but they lose commenting privileges if they violate the guidelines too many times. 

                  2 people found this helpful