1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 29, 2016 8:05 AM by Patrick Leffas

    Simulate Document Check-in / Check-out with Collaboration

      We would like to have the ability to lock files as read only for certain binary files uploaded into the system (like Powerpoint). The idea was this would enforce a check-in/check-out policy so that multiple people know they can't edit the same document at the same time.

       

      The way we started to approach this is by using the Collaboration feature to mark a file as read-only after we saved a local copy. It seems though that only the original document owner can change the collaboration options. Is there a way to setup permissions to allow anyone to do this?

       

      Also, is there a better way to approach the issue of check-in and check-out?