6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 25, 2011 12:58 AM by Valery.Klimov

Feature Discussion:  Customized Container Workflows

Ryan Rutan

Recently had discussions around this feature and wanted to share.

Pretty simple, just as you have ""Environments" setup as a content-type, I think it would be worthwhile for SBS to have Workflows as a Content-Type.

Some basic feature ideas to get it started would be:

• As a container admin, I am able to create Workflows that anyone in the container can access
        • For example, I want to create a new document and I know I want it to go through a specific workflow, I should be able to do the follow
          • Select the workflow for the document to follow
        • Templatized workflow templates to start with, such as multi-stage approvals and rejections
          • Ability to create custom templates/steps to add to the mix as part of a plugin would be a home-run!
        • UI should be drag/drop intuitive
        • Workflows should allow groupings of people to be assigned
          • Perhaps this is an extension of a Project / Tasks, or the paradigm could be re-used/casted.
            • Projects can be used to create groupings of people in a container....and the workflow creates an anonymous task in that container

Just some thoughts, but would like to see what you guys are thinking about in this field?

• Re: Feature Discussion:  Customized Container Workflows

Hi,

I am not sure I understand the overall concept of a "workflow" in this description.  This sounds like some kind of combination between a content-type and a content-container.  Is this correct?

Perhaps I could have a better understanding of this if you could describe a couple of use cases in which this would be helpful.

Thanks,

Cory

Ryan Rutan