9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2011 10:22 AM by bg2dot0

Limiting access to documents in spaces

Hi, I'm completely new to this, and am currently testing the system for British Sugar, I have a space that is dedicated to call resolution, i.e. people blog the most common faults and their solutions to them. However in order to ensure that the space is used properly I would like to be able to stop people from adding documents to this space. Is there any way to do this using permissions? or is there just a tick box to limit the structure?

All help much appreciated!

Regards

Ben

• Re: Limiting access to documents in spaces
          Billy Volpone

Hi Ben,

I believe you may be in one of our Jive Express instances, which is the lightweight version of our full enterprise SBS solution. The biggest difference between the two is that Express does not have a full admin console and therefore you cannot set advanced permissioning around spaces.

The easiest and best way for you to accomplish what you mentioned is to actually create a social group and when selecting content types, only choose "blogs". This way, anyone joining or being active on the group can create blogs but not documents or discussions.

Feel free to reach out to me with any further questions. Also, if you're thinking that our full SBS is more of the solution you're interested in testing, we would love to hear more about your project and set your team up with a demo.

Regards,

Billy Volpone

Hi Billy,

thanks for the info, sounds most likely. We are indeed trying the 45 day hosted version. So are you saying if we purchased the hosted version we would be able to gain this level of control? Or is it the case that we would need to install it to our own servers for this sort of functionality?

Kind Regards

Ben

Billy Volpone

Hi Ben,